In its commitment to upgrade the competencies and qualifications of personnel from Higher Education Institutions (HEI), the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) announced the awarding of full scholarships for graduate studies to 2,591 college faculty and staff for AY 2017-2018.

Under the Scholarships for Graduate Studies – Local (SGS-L) program, deloaded and displaced faculty and staff due to the implementation of the K to 12 Program are provided financial support to pursue master’s and doctoral degrees during the transition period.

Together with the ongoing 4,495 scholars from AY 2016-2017, the new batch of scholars will receive scholarship privileges that include tuition cost and living, book, and transportation allowances. In addition, scholars with completed master’s or doctoral coursework will receive research grants for the completion of their master’s thesis or doctoral dissertation.

“We are continuously making unprecedented investments for faculty and staff development to raise the quality of education being delivered in the country. Better teachers can easily translate to better education. Enhancing the capacity of our faculty and academic institutions also position us closer towards being more competitive with our ASEAN neighbors and the world,” said CHED Chairperson Patricia B. Licuanan.

Of the 2,591 new scholars, 1,438 will be awarded full support for pursuing master’s degrees and 1,153 for doctoral degrees. Scholars from Luzon make up majority of the group with 1,416, while 646 and 529 scholars come from Mindanao and the Visayas regions, respectively.

“Now in our second year of implementing this scholarship program, we also have new graduate programs for our new scholars. We have partnered with excellent academic institutions abroad and strengthened our industry linkages to better equip our faculty with emerging and niche disciplines,” Licuanan remarked.

The Chairperson elaborated that 89 new graduate programs will be offered to the new scholars next academic year. These include three Transnational Education (TNE) programs to be delivered by local academic institutions in partnership with foreign academic providers, and six Professional Science Master’s (PSM) programs to be offered by local institutions in collaboration with relevant industry and government partners.

Furthermore, Licuanan assured all scholars under the program that the Commission is coordinating closely with its regional offices in updating the disbursement process to expedite the release of living allowances. Also, starting AY 2017-2018, disbursement of allowances will be in tranches on a per academic term basis, rather than the current monthly arrangement.


The K to 12 Transition Program

The K to 12 Transition Program is a five-year effort aimed at the strategic development of HEIs and personnel during the transition period from 2016 to 2021. The Program includes a range of programs to support faculty and staff through scholarships for master’s and doctoral programs, non-degree programs, as well as institutional grants for HEIs.

For more information, visit chedk12.com.